What Is Edible Glitter Made Of?
We get this question a lot at Sugar Mama Shimmer, so we thought it would make a great blog post. While we can’t speak for other edible glitter on the market, we can give you the details on our edible shimmer. We use the term shimmer to refer to edible glitter made specifically for drinks.
All our edible shimmers contain various mica powder pigments and go through a specific manufacturing process allowing the mineral to be edible & consumable.
Sugar Mama Shimmer - Edible Glitter Ingredients
Ingredients found in our edible cocktail shimmer include dextrose, rice starch and color additives specifically approved for food use, including mica-based pearlescent pigments and FD&C colors such as FD&C Blue No. 1.
The FDA has approved all the ingredients being used in our edible shimmers based on the FDA approved ingredients & usage levels. To learn more about the FDA approved usage levels and the approved ingredients list from the FDA click on the links below.
FDA Approved Ingredients List – Click Here
FDA Approved Usage Levels, Article 73.350 – Click Here
Does Sugar Mama Shimmer’s edible glitter contain gluten, nuts, or eggs?
Sugar Mama Shimmer is 100% edible, uses only FDA approved ingredients, vegan, GMO free, dairy free, and nut free. However, there is always a risk of cross contamination. For information on ingredients, visit each product page for a full list.
We love to shimmer and sparkle at Sugar Mama Shimmer. Check out our shop page for details on each shimmer’s exact ingredients. If you have other questions or just want to get in touch drop us a note at firstname.lastname@example.org or on Facebook & Instagram @sugarmamashimmer.